paint by numbers artist

posting it on facebook does not make you an artist. you do not get to state that you are a freelance photographer simply by virtue of taking pictures of shiny lights in big cities, at night. seriously, there is no skill level at taking point and shoot pictures using auto focus. you are not a photographer because you stayed up until 4:30 am to ‘get that shot’ and call yourself pone because of the price you paid for the camera you clearly don;t know how to use. i did better, by accidentally not knowing how to set apertures when i was 14. and for the record ‘freelance’ implies people other than your parents and friends have bought your productions and hired you to produce material. stop being pretentious and get over yourself.

This entry was posted in rant, Truth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to paint by numbers artist

  1. Ray says:

    Lol. Well said. I am a photo hobbyist. I have sold pics to friends and family but I am by no means a pro. I do laugh whenever folks see my pics and say,” you must have a really nice camera”. Lol. I wonder if people ever went up to Picasso and said, ” you must have really nice paint brushes”.

    • rougedmount says:

      hobbiest is a great word..i am a photo hobbiest too…and a writing hobbiest..people who ‘are’ professionals…who have this crazy innate talent, they can pic up the tool of their craft and simply ‘make’ something. of course like all of us, they have their share of failures..but the quantity someone produces does not reflect talent or ability. as much as it annoyed me yesterday, today, i feel kind of sad for them. it’s an attention seeking behaviour which is begging for approval and asking for accolades because it obviously makes them feel better when it’s given and gives credence to their belief they have talent for something they obviously love, even though they are marginally adequate at it, at best. i am in no position to deny them their dreams…so i vented here…i have a hard time telling a naked emperor how attractive his new clothes are.

  2. Ned's Blog says:

    I had to snicker, RM. This really hit the mark. I spent part of last Wednesday working with young high school students aspiring to be photojournalists. They took some wonderful stuff, capturing the moment, and many of them posted on their Facebook pages — and none of them were pretentious enough to give themselves the moniker of “photographer.”

    • rougedmount says:

      I get being proud of something. And I know that when you really love something you create (like kids…or art), people are either highly critical of their own work or they see absolutely no flaw with it. It’s perfection. I like to think I am supportive most of the time, even if it causes eye strain to keep from rolling my eyes. But we all run across ‘those’ people. The ones who self promote and title’ize or label themselves to the extent that once you actually ‘do’ see what they are referencing, that it’s brutally hard to refrain from saying something…rude … I don’t want to be a ‘Debbie Downer’ but wow. If most of your pictures/drawings/whatever, suck and you think they are FAB…Houston? We have a problem.

      • Ned's Blog says:

        Hahaha! I can’t help but think of the parents of “singers” during tryouts for American Idol. Do they really think their kids can sing when they’re so far off key they need a locksmith? I will always support my kids, but I won’t set them up for failure by not being honest. Unless I don’t want them to find my chocolate stash…

      • rougedmount says:

        I had a son come home tonight and he surprised me by having gotten a haircut. a very short haircut. A GQ worthy, short, styled haircut. The boy is beautiful and this haircut, instead of the long shaggy style he’s worn for a few years, makes him look like a man…and a manly man at that. Of course, I told him, how incredible he looked. he looked at me sideways and said, “You know I can’t trust anything you say to me, considering you’re my mom and you tell me that all the time, no matter what I look like?”
        I cracked up. And told him his looks and personality had nothing to do with his hairstyle….that this style just wickedly suits him and I won’t be the only one to notice. he hates bringing attention to himself and thinks he can hide behind a shaggy haircut. The kid is 6ft7, dirty blond hair, big green eyes, big full Mick Jager lips (like mine..lol), square jawed, ginger bearded, swimmers physique….he’s been noticed since he was 14. and now? wow. the kid is definitely not a kid anymore.
        as much as I cheerlead them..I don’t act like they do no wrong or are talented in things they aren’t. My go to is “well bless your heart”…they know what it means

Share your thoughts...I did

