Adult Onset Aspergers

I believe I have AOA – Adult Onset Aspergers. I find the older I get, the more I have to almost physically restrain myself from calling people fucking assholes, when they act like it or calling them some special kind of stupid when they just are so moronic that it makes it virtually impossible, to not address it. The saying “with age comes wisdom”, may actually be a precursor for this well known, yet previously un-diagnosed mental state, which happens when we grow up and somehow find that we are surrounded by idiotic people. I truly don’t want to smack anybody upside the head while swearing at them, even though I can almost feel how satisfying that would be in the moment. Then again, maybe that could be considered AOT – Adult onset Tourettes. Maybe I’ll start carrying a card.

This entry was posted in Aspergers, humor, mental illness, Relationships and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Adult Onset Aspergers

  1. aaroncauser says:

    🙂 I think I share both …

  2. Liras says:

    Nothing wrong or odd about calling it like it is. Maybe if there was more pointing it out when assholery happens, we would have less of it.

  3. Ned's Blog says:

    Hahahaha! On occasion when my 17-year-old son with Asperger’s stubs his toe or gets irritated with someone for general “jerkness,” he’ll loose his cool and starts dropping the F-Bomb like he’s giving out angels wings with ever curse. My initial reaction is, of course, to tell him it’s inappropriate and calm him down. Then I think to myself, “I wish I could do that… I wonder who’s really more emotionally healthy? Me for holding it in, or him for letting it all out?” 😉

    • rougedmount says:

      baahahahaa
      my son looked directly at someone (an adult) and said “are you seriously that stupid or do you not have any idea about what you’re talking about so you’re just faking it because either way, I can’t stand listening to you anymore.” Then he got up and walked out. Not sure who got more looks…him for the comment and mic drop moment as he exited the room like a bull in a china shop, or me for bursting out laughing, snorting and wheezing, actually crying from trying to stop myself from laughing as I stumbled after him, shrugging my shoulders knowing that he said outloud what I said in my head. The freedom! The TRUTH!. It’s not always pretty or socially polite, is it? But my God, it can be funny when it’s not hurtful.

  4. I agree with your thoughts. Today’s politically correct world make it nearly impossible to truly express our feelings.

Share your thoughts...I did

