Once

That is the number of times you get to hit me

I will pick my crumpled self up from the floor

And away from the solid bruising of the wall

Stand on shaky legs and turn my tear stained face

With angry, fiery eyes and through gritted teeth

I will advise you that this ‘mistake’ you made

Will be the only time it ever happens

Because I will ruin your career and life

I will invoke society’s wrath against you

And remove your children from your world

If you ever lay hands on me again in anger

Either accept every word I say through bloodied lip

As true or be prepared to sleep with one eye open

Because I will hurt you when you sleep tonight

Claiming self defence inside an abusive marriage

And my face is the proof that would exonerate me

You may not regret what you’ve done yet, so remember

My spirit is harder than your fist will ever be

This entry was posted in Family, Husband, marriage, parenting, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Once

  1. willowdot21 says:

    This is so blood good!!

Share your thoughts...I did

