an old dog

i woke up crying today. feeling the cold tile under my arm as i cradled her head against mine and in my arms, feeling her fur and smelling the dog smell that was uniquely hers. i could hear her labored breath change as the sedative took effect, then stop altogether as the lethal injection followed. my heart was breaking as i felt her body become limp;  she took her last breath, exhaled and was gone. my sweet girl. my beautiful yellow lab who helped me raise my children, who loved and watched over them, who grew up with them. my bird dog with a soft mouth who went frogging with the kids, spitting out bullfrogs at their feet so they could chase them and catch them as she proudly watched. who retrieved live birds for me to heal and baby rabbits for me to raise. i miss her. and am so glad she came to me in my dreams, even though it’s made me cry for and miss the dog of my heart.

This entry was posted in Family, Relationships and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to an old dog

  1. slave tasha says:

    Losing our furkids is just SO hard. My Buster went over the rainbow bridge 6 years ago and I still tear up. 💜

  2. literally says:

    My thoughts and sympathies are with you. This reminded me of my sweet Lady who passed in 2012

  3. I’m so sorry for you. i know how rough it is to lose a dog but just remember that they will be restored to full health and wait for you at the Rainbow Bridge. You can also leave a tribute to them at http://www.gonetodogstar.com/dogs-listing/ . You can visit the Rainbow Bridge at https://rainbowsbridge.com/Poem.htm

  4. Sharn says:

    Ugh, so hard letting go 😦 I’m sorry for your loss.

  5. cb says:

    We should never have to outlive our children, but the same is not true for our pets. I have out lived four of my pets – two dogs, two cats – each one as heart breaking as the last.

    But it is best this way. Our pets are our babies who never stop depending on us. What will happen if they out live us? Who will take care of them?

    As Shakespeare said “It is better to have loved and lost, than never to have loved at all.” We will always love and remember our pets, even when they are no longer with us.

  6. So sorry for your loss:((

  7. Ned's Blog says:

    The unconditional, pure love of a dog is unlike any other kind of love. It’s a loss, like the love itself, that lingers in the heart.

  8. dievca says:

    Oh, I am so sorry. Sigh.

  9. A truly beautiful dog whose loved touched all deeply. I am sorry for your loss.

Share your thoughts...I did

