cough and cold season

chills and malaise have overtaken me, rendering me incapable of continuing to deny the obvious; I have a cold. As I don’t get them often, I find that having one feels rather horrid. Interestingly enough, as I was hacking up a lung this morning in front of the bathroom mirror, I noticed that while doing so, I looked about 10 years older than I am. I have puffy eyes and my skin looks grey. My nose is reddish and my lips are dry. I ‘look’ sick but don’t look as bad as I feel. Since when did feeling like you fell down a flight of stairs, get added to the ‘it’s just a cold’ list?

I’ve spent 3 days sleeping off and on and rather than getting better, I am not at my peak of illness yet. I know this because this morning as I came downstairs and started to unload the dishwasher, I started to cry. All I wanted to do was lay down on the kitchen floor and go to sleep. I’m hungry but am nauseous when I eat. I eat then have massive acid reflux and spend 2 hours wishing I could simply barf the contents of the meal out of my body to end the torsion occurring in my guts.

My eyesight is blurry, as if I am not wearing prescription glasses, that  I neither have or need. I spoke on the phone briefly for work and sounded like a nicotine addicted sex trade worker after a very long week end, from 5 days of brutal hacking coughs which have torn the delicate membranes inside my larynx. I’m drinking herbal teas with lemon and honey. I’ve chewed 874 lozenges and I am sure it’s created borderline diabetes with the sugar content. I’ve popped some pharmaceuticals and given myself that weird feeling of hearing things in a quasi echo as my vision gets time delayed. Maybe I overdosed on them.

Nothing is working, I feel like crap, I’ve had a 7 day head ache, I’m sick, I’m tired and I’m bordering on just whining and having a tantrum because I am sick and tired, which makes me feel unlike myself and I hate it and I don’t want to play anymore. If you see a woman in her pajamas in the grocery store later today, with her messy hair hidden under a baseball hat, crying by the produce as I get a few things I need for dinner, today, please just remember that at least I have my face covered with a bandanna to prevent bio hazardous phlegm from infecting anyone else and I am in fact, not about to rob the store of carrots and celery.

On second thought and after reading about the symptoms ofInfluenza, I probably DO have the flu. Well that sucks.

This entry was posted in humor, Who I am and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to cough and cold season

  1. dievca says:

    Oh, Dear —- I am sorry for you. I’d send chicken noodle soup if I had the makings….XO

  2. Sounds like more than a cold; maybe the flu. Get well soon.

    • rougedmount says:

      thank you. i refuse to use ‘that’ word – the ‘f’ word while i can still walk. i’m still functional in a modified and resentful capacity, ergo i am possibly not even actually ‘sick’. probably just sniffles..or allergies..or eating a bad burrito last week. I go YEARS between bouts of ‘whatever this is’ so I think my body over reacts to the newness of not feeling well.

  3. Gary Lum says:

    Get well soon. I hope you bounce back quickly.

Share your thoughts...I did

