reason to write

the world needs more story tellers

people who can get inside your head

and take you on a journey with them

inspire your imagination to believe

what we once always knew was true

that the world has beautiful magic

if we just take the time to look at it

This entry was posted in Poems, Who I am and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to reason to write

  1. Ned's Blog says:

    I completely and deeply agree. Even as a humor columnist, I see my most important function as reminding people that even the most “ordinary” circumstances can be extraordinary if you take the time to look at them with a fresh set of eyes — and a heart open to laughter. Life’s burdens are lightened for the lighthearted.

    • rougedmount says:

      it matters to me..i often wonder if what i write has any impact at all or if the words merely blow away in the wind to be forgotten

      • Ned's Blog says:

        I think what you write matters to a lot of folks because it is so diverse, often raw and always real. Passages of descriptions you have written can still be recalled in my mind — your words aren’t forgotten, although they have sometimes left ME blown away. And I’m certain I’m not alone.

      • rougedmount says:

        diversity in writing is literature’s way of advertising the psychological condition of ADHD. it either annoys people or inspires those who share the trait.
        if nothing else…it makes things interesting…

      • Ned's Blog says:

        Whatever the reason for your diverse observations, written and otherwise, those who are annoyed are likely unhappy for reasons having little to do with your varied subject matter; those who are inspired appreciate your prose unconditionally.

      • rougedmount says:

        well considering the fact that i admire your style myself, i greatly appreciate the feedback. part of me finds speaking about what i write rather disconcerting…the idea of an audience makes me wonder if i’ve changed how i write as a result of knowing people can read what i write. i’m not sure. i’m very much used to a retrospective perspective..internally seeking validation and it interests me…if others find ‘this’ my ‘life’ my ‘voice’ interesting.

      • Ned's Blog says:

        I think in some ways, knowing others will read your words can add a degree of levity to what you’re doing and, in turn, inspire you to push the boundaries more. I know if I’m eating out at a buffet, I definitely push the boundaries…

  2. kdaddy23 says:

    Rouged, you words have great impact on those of us who follow you…

  3. 'Tis says:

    out of all the bloggers i have ever followed you are the one who’s words have spoken for me what mine could not. i didn’t even know the feelings i had/have could be described until i read them here and once experienced it was as if I had won the fucking lottery. you have given my thoughts and feelings a voice. there is no greater gift than that dear woman and i thank you. i thank you for being a wordsmith, a story teller, a writer. 🙂 xo

    • rougedmount says:

      thank you so much for sharing that with me…i’m glad it helped especially knowing the path you’ve shared with me. i came to blogging with my own need to get twisted emotions under control, and straightened out so i could deal with them. so i’m glad it’s helped you too. its hard to know if it matters when there is no real feedback

  4. I love this post, as I very much agree with you. The world is truly full of magic, and stories help remind us of that. They tell us about people we’ll never meet and places we’ll never go to. Except we’ll do those things in our imaginations, as led by the stories. What you describe in your post is the kind of thing I hope my stories accomplish.

Share your thoughts...I did

