faking autism

you know what i find ‘hilarious’? people who want to take the Asperger label and use it as a mask to cover up their asshole personalities by claiming traits of a diagnosis to enable them to be jerks. newsflash! every single parent and sibling who has had to live with a person diagnosed with someone on the autism spectrum, can pick those people out a mile away. they are only fooling people who have no experience with autism. and their need for attention is rather pathetic as well as being disrespectful to people who have to live with an  ‘actual’  Aspergers diagnosis. i can’t imagine being so messed up, you’d rather label yourself with autism, than stop being an asshole.

This entry was posted in Aspergers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to faking autism

  1. Pingback: faking autism | georgeforfun

  2. I hear you, makes me stabby. You can have ASD and not be an Arsehole…and you can be ‘neurotypical’ and be a complete and utter prick.

  3. dievca says:

    It’s such a serious concern and challenge that I hate the idea that someone belittles it.

  4. Ned's Blog says:

    Even my 16-year-old son, who has Aspergers and has witnessed assholes, has said: “That guy acts like he has Autism, but I’m sure he’s just a butt hole.” But for someone to use it as an excuse to continue asinine behavior really grinds my gears. It perpetuates a 1-dimensional sterotype that is a dis-service to people with autism everywhere.

    But you already said it, RM: They’re just assholes.

    • rougedmount says:

      the issue with someone ‘faking’ a condition, is that they simply can not keep it up and when you ‘know’ someone who has aspersers…when you know 40 people with aspergers….as different as they all are…they are also all the same. and when you add a NT into the mix who is trying to fit in with them…omg…you just see the glaring difference and it bothers me so much. my son can’t turn it on or off. he is who he is 100% of the time and no one gets a break from it. i think people who do this, have a form of Munchhausen syndrome.

      • Ned's Blog says:

        As you already know, there’s a reason it’s called an Autism “spectrum,” — because it varies so much from person to person.

        I had to laugh at your Munchhausen remark, which was very perceptive. Unfortunately, it also offers another condition for someone like that to pull pity — and excuses — from.

      • rougedmount says:

        i can’t even come back with a witty comment when people fake issues…i can barely suppress violence.

      • Ned's Blog says:

        I understand. I’m an easy going guy with a long fuse — accept when it comes to three things. One of them is using other people’s challenges to their own advantage. In that case I’m more like a grenade going off.

      • rougedmount says:

        one of the comments that people make about me with frequency is that i look like i am restraining myself. i give ample opportunity for people to back up and back off and back away because my words , my body language and my face are very expressive. when i get to the point of restraining myself, i vibrate, and most people can see it and respond to my queue. my detonation is rarely loud, it is quietly venomous, striking and psychologically damaging. my volume growls. i rarely completely lose it because when i do i’ve had to restrain myself so long that i am under pressure. i am also one of those people who don’t fight unless i mean to win at all cost…even at personal damage to myself. and when people see crazy, even when they are angry…they understand it means there is no negotiations once i’ve lost it. my fuse is abnormally long…annoyingly long…but this topic is a quick trigger for me. i’ve had to live with raising a child with massive issues, not just alone but with a parent i feel contributed negatively in some aspects. i am intimately aware of the subtle differences between aspergers and people on the spectrum…just like i know when someone isn’t. i wish it didn’t make me want to commit violence so readily against them…but it does. because i feel diminished…my journey and experience feels mitigated by their gall. learning to walk away from drama is a process we have to continuously relearn. you’d think it would get easier over time…and it doesn’t.

      • Ned's Blog says:

        So, in addition to completely understanding what it’s like to deal with the challenges faced by a parent (or in my case step-parent) of a child with Asperger’s whose “real” father doesn’t want to make the effort to deal with those issues, I also understand that I wouldn’t want to make you angry.

        I may be a grenade, but you’re “The bomb…” 😉

      • rougedmount says:

        lol…i love what u do..it’s given me hope that men like you are obviously real..i’m not so much the bomb as wet dynamite laying on top of the blasting caps. completely stable until i go off..lol

Share your thoughts...I did

