without artifice

I forgot to keep my tongue silent

And spoke of love

The suddenness surprising me

As it was completely unplanned

And without artifice

Spoken as an afterthought, really

In the midst of doing other things

It came un-bidden on its own volition

Shocking me with its appearance

And left me to wonder

Where it came from

Have I loved you all along?

Even while I hated you

Have I kept a promise to stay?

Even while believing it was over

I questioned the truth of them

It was not habit that forced the words

They did not appear by rote or choice

But with a casual disclosure

Which is more disturbing

Than if by purposeful placement

I can not dwell on what it meant

Or what it means to our future

I refuse to analyze the content

Or emotional entanglements

I’ll simply accept the words

As I must have needed to disclose them

Even if I did so thoughtlessly

And I will let them live as a reminder

In the dusty air between us

That new paths are not easy to traverse

This entry was posted in marriage, Poems and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to without artifice

  1. Ned's Blog says:

    “…Let themlive as a reminder in the dusty air between us…”
    That image will stay with me.
    Brilliant.

  2. kdaddy23 says:

    Yeah… where did THAT come from, huh?

  3. ismeisreallyme says:

    a journey indeed…

  4. Mr Modigliani says:

    Love comes in many different forms. The question is whether it is coming in the various ways that meet your internal landscape of needs and desires.

Share your thoughts...I did

