birth fathers

Do not live with regret

For what you never had

Become the adult

He should have been

He simply started your life

He didn’t nourish it or you

He had a brief moment

You have a real lifetime

It’s not about conception

It’s about the creation

Giving meaning to life

Love is not discovered

It’s nurtured by choices

His history is not yours

He merely opened a chapter

In the story of your life

This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to birth fathers

  1. Michelle says:

    I really like this. I was raised by my birth mother, but adopted my my father. He is a wonderful man and dad. Unfortunatley, he is in bad health and probably doen’t have much longer (months, a year, who knows?). As I contemplate him not being around, it makes me wonder about my birth father. i could very easily find him since my mom is still in some contact with the family. Not sure what I’m going to do.

    • rougedmount says:

      feeling guilt about contacting a birth father when you love your ‘real’ and present father is normal. Biology means nothing when it comes to inter personal relationships. A person who ‘wants’ to be a parent ‘is’ regardless of biology. Ask your mother now, about your bio father. She may be more willing to talk and share info because she is in a more emotionally vulnerable place. Line things up so that when you are ready you can make the move to speak with and know who your birth father is. You are not guaranteed time or a future with him. Don’t regret discovering what you need to as it’s harder to adjust to, when the opportunity is no longer available. You don;t have to be friends with him or even develop a relationship with him. But contact to create peace in your heart and mind, that you may not even know is missing, will be relevant, especially once your ‘real’ dad dies.

  2. Michelle says:

    Reblogged this on Michelle's Blog and commented:
    As I think about the likely loss of my wonderful adoptive father in the near future. This is something I have been thinking about…
    To find him, or not to find him….

Share your thoughts...I did

