rant: comparing situations

I am so sick of ignorant people who think they are educated about autism; sprout off about things they have no understanding of. It triggers an internal violence in me that makes me want to smack the shit out of them until they shut up. I despise people hiding behind the comments on message boards. You don’t know the story behind other people’s experience. You don’t know the pain they have endured or sacrifices they have made. Ignorant comments designed to be hurtful, only make you seem like a pathetic online attention seeker, which means in real life you are probably not well liked or more likely, useless.

Claiming authority on an autistic child and their needs, because your child has ADHD, is like my saying I know about being paralyzed because I broke a leg once. There IS no comparison between the two. Ever. They are completely different, even if they may share a trait or two, but the experience of living with them and dealing with them, is vastly different depending on how each of the disorders manifests itself.

I just love soapbox preaching, ignorant people who like to snark and rudely comment. These kind of ‘one up, my situation is worse than yours’ parents; they should never have reproduced in the first place. The reality is, their kids have profoundly worse issues than kids on the ‘autism spectrum’ because they are suffering from having a parent who is a fucking idiot as well as being born with a cognitive or behavioral problem.

Oh! And adults who have chosen to not have children should say nothing, EVER, when it comes to parenting children, teenagers, families who deal with autism because they live in a world that they have NO understanding of. I don’t care if you went to school with a kid who you are positive had Aspergers or your Uncle who was diagnosed with it at 37.

Seriously. Shut up or stop writing. Even if you work with someone who has Aspergers, you do not have the 24-7 physical/emotional relationship with them that you are forced to deal with for the rest of your life. You don’t know stress or pressure. I am in no way de-valuing your experience, but you have NO comprehension of mine, so stop trying to make comparisons when they are not warranted and for GODS SAKE do NOT try and imply your situation is worse/more stressful/the same as, mine. It’s not. And you are an idiot.

This entry was posted in Aspergers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to rant: comparing situations

  1. thruthemist says:

    When will people understand that every situation, every human being is unique. Comparisons are insulting and ridiculous. Beautiful post!

    • rougedmount says:

      … for the first time in my life, I actually felt pressure build behind an eye and I thought I would burst if I didn’t rant. Have you ever been witness to one person saying/doing things that are so ridiculous that you are positive they HAVE to be kidding … and then all of a sudden you, or people around you, realize they are being serious? That happened…

      • thruthemist says:

        Yes I have. Only I didn’t write, I blasted them. You don’t have to put up with bs.

      • rougedmount says:

        i rarely, rarely, rarely ever speak in anger…i simply hate to be drawn into drama. i certainly speak my mind when warranted, but when people are obviously uneducated and ignorant…you simply can’t speak to them or reason with them.

      • thruthemist says:

        I don’t normally either but involved my grandson that was actively dying from cancer. The rawness of emotion, the reality of the situation just was too much. Did they get anything out of it…no. Did I get anything from going off…no. I just couldn’t stop myself. You took a much better path.

      • rougedmount says:

        jesus.. i would have done the exact same thing in the exact same situation..

  2. Chris says:

    It’s your blog, and we all need to rant once in a while. I’ll offer a caution, regarding, “It triggers an internal violence in me that makes me want to smack the shit out of them until they shut up.” Doing that which you want to do in such a situation is more than remotely probable to result in the disability or death of that person and your own incarceration. Internal violence when faced with ignorance isn’t such a bad thing. Turning your desire into action unequivocally would be a bad thing.

    You will act according to your own judgment, but there are already too many traumatic injuries to people at the hands of other people in this world.

Share your thoughts...I did

