the water falls

Looking out through the heavy glass and into the darkness, my naked reflection shimmered at the periphery of my view. My simple outline showed no features or held no detail. My margins were painted with the view I overlooked. The colored lights danced, changing shades and shining over the heavy fall of ice and mist. Shadows danced in and on the swells, slipping inside the deep chasm of cracks blending into the darkness outside of the artificially lit areas.

Even with the crackling of the fireplace beside me, I could hear the steady drone of water as it fell; like the smooth running of an air conditioner blasting at top speed. There is something primitive and raw about the sheer power of quickly running water; moving in crushing progression to erode everything in its path; pushing everything aside as it decides on the easiest course through impossibly hard terrain, smoothing it through steady violence until it complies with the force of its nature and the gravity of situation.

In the reflection, I looked to the side at the shape of his sleeping form under the heavy duvet. His even deep breathing, told me he had been asleep for a while. I had to wonder about the events of the last 24 hours and I briefly tried to understand why he had arranged for this winter getaway. He had been attentive, invested and engaged. He had been thoughtful and considerate. Not once had I felt he was being inauthentic.

I quickly had to brush my thoughts aside, before I compared his current actions against a marriage filled with the opposite. I did not want to harbour resentments or bring the past into the moment. I just wanted to stand naked, thirty floors over the world, looking out over the vastness of the mighty river as it disappeared into the blackness of the night, feeling the cold glass pressed against my warm skin and simply enjoy the moment for what it was. Peaceful contentment is a rare commodity and on this night, it belonged only to me.

This entry was posted in marriage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to the water falls

  1. ismeisreallyme says:

    {hugs}

  2. Shalom says:

    What an evocative post. ((hugs))

  3. Rincewind says:

    Beautiful, sad.. but lovely…

  4. Dear rougedmount:

    Sweet!

    Village Idiot

  5. Marty says:

    I know this river

Share your thoughts...I did

