Rant: choosing to not vaccinate

Getting a vaccination does NOT mean you will be immune if exposed to the disease, it simply improves the chances dramatically. For instance, in 100 people who have been given the mumps vaccine, on average, only 12 of them may get mumps.

People who CAN’T be vaccinated rely on the majority of people having immunity to help mitigate their own risk against diseases that are for the most part preventable IF people who CAN be vaccinated ARE vaccinated. By choosing to not get a shot, you are purposefully exposing not just yourself by EVERYONE who can not be vaccinated, like anyone who has ever had a life-threatening allergic reaction to the antibiotic neomycin, pregnant women, sick children, people with a disease that affects the immune system or is being treated with drugs that affect the immune system, such as steroids; people with cancer or are being treated for cancer with radiation or drugs; people with a low platelet count (a blood disorder); people who have recently had a transfusion or received other blood products.

By choosing to NOT vaccinate then you are risking the lives of not just healthy adults who have the best chances of surviving it, but all of the weak, the young, the elderly and the sick, who do not have the physical stamina to withstand the illness without severe, if not life ending, consequences.

I am NOT a Doctor. I am NOT a nurse. I could care less about what daytime talk shows have to report about vaccinations. I am a sentient and educated adult who can and does do my own research on issues I want more information on, so I can make informed choices for the family I am responsible for. If you don’t have the time for this, then the LEAST you can do is rely on the expert opinions of the professionals who have extensive training on the subject manner.

Vaccinations: not getting them is a stupid decision.

This entry was posted in rant and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Rant: choosing to not vaccinate

  1. Dawn D says:

    Not to mention the people who needed an organ transplant and are on immunity suppressants for the rest of their lives.
    I agree. I’m no doctor either. But an educated adult too. Vaccination is not for you, but for the good of the community. If in the process it helps your family, then why not do it?
    Also, and article I read not long ago, that may be interesting and cut short a lot of counter-arguments:
    http://www.upworthy.com/16-years-ago-a-doctor-published-a-study-it-was-completely-made-up-and-it-made-us-all-sicker?g=2&c=ufb3

  2. Dear rougedmont:

    You wrote: ‘Vaccinations: not getting them is a stupid decision.’
    I reply: ‘What a tragedy there is no vaccination for stupidity!’

    Village Idiot — [Ducks and cringes in anticipation of incoming projectiles … flying saucers, rolling pins, wrenches etc.].

    • Dawn D says:

      I’m not sure whose stupidity you are referring to…

      • rougedmount says:

        i think the unwashed masses of stupid people who are making bad decisions?

      • Dear Dawn D:

        I’ll start with those who refuse vaccinations. But we can probably expand that to include conspiracy theorists, politicians who expect my vote and … well … ‘everyone is an idiot in the driver’s seat — so it’s really a question of whose turn it is today…’ Ultimately, this references my own stupidity.

        Stupidity contributes much to the enrichment of our language. We could write a thesaurus on the language that has evolved around stupidity, some of which is actually very creative. In my day, I’ve heard dumbbells and numbskulls referenced regularly. But if somebody combined these and called us a ‘dumbskull,’ everyone knows immediately what it means. Yet if you Google ‘dumbskull,’ the top return reads, ‘did you mean “numbskull.” Did I Google ‘numbskull?’ No. So how clever is that?

        I’m guessing that we have yet to explore the extremities of human stupidity. So far, every time we think we’ve arrived, some idiot has come along and proved us wrong. This much we know for sure. God loves idiots. He made them by truckloads!

        Village Idiot

        PS: Sometimes, you have to read my posts with a sense of levity. This is one of them. Have a good one,

      • Dawn D says:

        I have no problem reading your posts with a sense of levity, I actually really like what you just wrote. I had not met you before, so didn’t know what to make of your comment.
        I thought you were expecting incoming projectiles because you were defending the cause of people who don’t vaccinate and in doing so were calling our host stupid, which I found a bit disconcerting… possibly other things as well, stupid may have been one of them, as well as rude.
        I just wanted to check how I should read your comment before lashing out at you 😉
        So I guess there will be no lashing out coming from me, and it lokks like there hasn’t been any from anyone else either 🙂
        As for your last paragraph… I guess everyone is someone else’s idiot, and I have no doubts that I am someone’s (my ex and his mom come to mind!).
        So I try not to judge anyone too harshly, in hopes I won’t be judge harshly either. I guess I really AM an idiot 😉

        Have a good one too 😉

    • rougedmount says:

      the saving grace is stupid people make stupid decisions and eventually one may result in darwinism working its magic for that particular gene pool…

Share your thoughts...I did

