Asperger Adult Child

seriously.. the autism spectrum ..”Aspergers”.. you  fucking suck. at least if he ‘looked’ more autistic, instead of acting like an impossible asshole, it would be easier to deal with or have other’s understand. i am so tired, so angry, so DONE with this. he is an adult now and acts like an over tired 4 year old who throws a tantrum at least once or twice a day.

he doesn’t listen, is oppositionally defiant, i have to repeat repeat repeat everything; redirect, refocus and remain calm 100% of the time. be firm with and stand up to a 6ft 3, 300lb ANGRY child-man who is sneaky, deceitful, lies about 99% of everything that comes out of his mouth and who blames me for being the rule maker, the enforcer. he’s horrible.

This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Asperger Adult Child

  1. Keith says:

    I know what you’re going through…close friends of mine have a child diagnosed with the same. I’ve watched him grow through the years (now 17) and from afar, you wouldn’t know a thing. But when you see the tantrum, you know. Stay strong.

    • rougedmount says:

      being strong – highly over rated – how simple it would be to just take the easy way out…unfortunately, i tend to assign myself the ‘good mother’ role and that means you stay, you fight, you have a bad day, then you move along. sigh. battered…but you move along…

  2. dragonfly918 says:

    Don’t know how you do it. I guess I am not a very nice person. I would have been long gone. It’s not like he would care. Him or the husband.

    • rougedmount says:

      completely and absolutely correct. their lives would improve 100 fold without a parent to guide them to correct behaviour and appropriate responses.

      • dragonfly918 says:

        Haha! See? I told you I’m not a very nice person. Or at least make a terrible mother. Which is why birth control and abortion should always be legal and available for women like me.

  3. ismeisreallyme says:

    vent. loudly. here. all you want. all you need. as a mom with a preteen on the spectrum; 12-years old, 5’8″, 155 pounds, that wears a mens size 11 shoe and is still growing…I get it. I do. In fact I’m convinced that DH is an undiagnosed adult, high functioning, on the spectrum. But I digress, vent, vent here. It’s safe and we’re allowed to speak what’s in our hearts and in our mind at the moment. But I know you are one of the strongest women, in all aspects of the word, to know you love him. Protect him. Want the best of what he can be, for him. {hugs}

    • rougedmount says:

      advice: take time for you. get away for family free time with no one you know…solo travel. recharge.you are entering the testosterone poisoning years and it is not fun. it is not easy. it is a marathon of readjustments. GET A SUPPORT SYSTEM NOW. of other Aspie moms and caregivers. Get him associating with others on the spectrum.

      • ismeisreallyme says:

        oh yes, already doing all of that. admittedly I wonder if my other life, the one I escape to every few months with “him” is part of time for me. selfishly, all me. It’s why we made the sacrifice to enroll him in a school of his peers and commute him each day more than 50-miles round trip etc. and I surround myself with and our family with a support system. and yet I still feel the need to get ready for Armageddon. {hugs}

  4. dievca says:

    Let it rip. We are here — we hear you.

  5. Dear rougedmount:

    I’ve turned this one over in my mind for several days. I have schizophrenic sister; but that also pales before your situation. You have my respect. I will support you in whatever you decide.

    Village Idiot

Share your thoughts...I did

