dawns light

i opened the curtains before i went to bed

so this morning i woke up as the sun rose

dawn tipped its pale light above the dark horizon of trees

filtered through cloud and curtain to gently stir me

through framed casement i watched the cloud part

and the fiery brightness dance across the distance

until the glare of brilliance lit up the sky to robins egg blue

and blinded me to the sight of the perfection of dawns early light

closing my eyes to feel the last heat of the summers sun kissing my skin

as i buried myself deeper under the light weight of seasonal covers

listening to the busy sound of birds and distant wind through leaves

while my dog snored curled in a nest of messy sheets at the bend of my knee

This entry was posted in Nature, Poems and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to dawns light

  1. dievca says:

    Gorgeous Morning!

Share your thoughts...I did

