public message private friend

he sent me a handful of words

scattered with edictal precision

without the vantage of reference

i knew beyond doubt it was him

for no one else speaks to me

as if were a delicate creature

or a fragile and vibrant flower

he is far too kind in his praise

the pedestal far too undeserving

the truth is a sharp and bitter wind

cutting its message across bared flesh

where his words give me respite

from the isolation of my solitude

thank you for loving me like you do

though i am completely undeserving

This entry was posted in Poems, Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to public message private friend

  1. ismeisreallyme says:

    wrong. you are more than deserving. you are worthy. isn’t it lovely and at the same time difficult when they reach out as only they can? and yet, it’s those messages that mean so much.

  2. Eli Pacheco says:

    I think we don’t realize the impact of our words, do we? And who is to say who is worthy? I’d like to think we all are.

Share your thoughts...I did

