truth: childcare

nothing exhausts you more, both mentally and physically, than the responsibility of caring for little people who possess infinite energy

This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to truth: childcare

  1. mel says:

    Are you kidding? One is exhausting! Two would be annihilating! 🙂

  2. Completely true! I don’t know where my 2 year old gets all her energy from!

  3. Ned's Blog says:

    I once took care of eight children, all under the age of nine, for a friend who is a childcare provider. She had an emergency and called me because, as a father of four, I had the most “experience” in dealing with a hoard of children. It was only for about five hours. I’m happy to say I managed to pull it off. I’m also happy to say I have completed my state-mandated therapy sessions and, according to my psych, “Ned no longer curls up into a ball and cries whenever he hears the sound of children; his own or otherwise.”

    • rougedmount says:

      …grin…so many people do not understand the challenges of caring for a child let alone children. when i look at children i can’t help but be impressed by their design. fearless, selfish, emotional,excessive energy….children are completely unfiltered and without artifice. you see true personality before manipulation or social rules are ingrained. the perfect combination of silly and sweet, unreasonable and demanding. i often thought that if childcare was a mandated form of punishment for certain blue collar crimes that it could also serve as a ipso facto method of birth control.

      • Ned's Blog says:

        Hahaha! So very true. Those years before children start caring about social standing, cliques and “fitting in” — when they are just happy and determined to live each day on their own terms — are precious. I like to think I try to live my life like that, but I know it’s probably only when I’ve had a couple of drinks… 😉

  4. That is one of the things I absolutely dread, Ned. I want so badly for my children to grow up happy, confident, and undamaged. I don’t want them worrying about whether or not they are cool, or what everyone else thinks. I try to raise them that way, but of course they are still tiny and who knows what effect my parenting is having. I just know I went through hell trying to be who others thought I should be, and I am only NOW, as an almost-thirty-something adult learning to be comfy in my own skin. I think the best we can do is accept them for who they are, so they know that who they are is just fine.

Share your thoughts...I did

