silent skies

266
I saw the dark silhouette of a bird this morning
Flit from snowy ground up into an icy tree limb
And it occurred to me it’s been over a week
Since I have seen any other aerial movement
It makes me wonder where the little birds went
During the ice storm and dropping temperatures
When sheeting ice covered every possible surface
Followed by the delicate weight of dangerous snow
Chickadees and sparrows were absent from my yard
Starlings and cardinals did not surge from tree to sky
And I did not notice their absence until I saw the return
Of a single darkened shadow, in the early grey of dawn

This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to silent skies

  1. oceanswater says:

    They flew West to Arizona. In the morning at 6am, I hear them chirping like it is Spring…

  2. theotherwoman97 says:

    What an amazing pic! Stay warm!

  3. unlovingyou says:

    i thought the exact same thing yesterday! it’s so eerie. things started melting today. chunks of ice were falling everywhere. i still have yet to see a bird though

    • rougedmount says:

      i’ve never been happier to see bare branches…and i went to the pet store and bought bird seed to throw all over the ground as the little ones can’t through all the ice and snow to eat.

Share your thoughts...I did

