dead muse

I am writing a plethora of garbage
Deleted copious amounts of phlegm
Flushed away the rancid bowel movements
Of a brain purging mediocrity
The stench of it is overwhelming
It makes my burning eyes water
And my rolling stomach heave
My throat is raw from hacking efforts
Seeping the puss of infection and pain
Into the open sewers of piss and shit
Splatting in the moat of lost inspiration
Wasted nothingness of a lethargic mind

This entry was posted in Who I am and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to dead muse

  1. Ned's Blog says:

    I see you read my post today… 😉

    In case I don’t get the chance to say it, my warmest wishes to you for the New Year.

    • rougedmount says:

      i have you emailed to my phone whenever you post … though saying that makes me feel like a voyeur or on an approved stalker list. Hmmm I may have to change my subscription button to say that..
      thank you very much for the new years warm wishes.my resolution is to not barf when i start back at the gym.

      • Ned's Blog says:

        Haha! I’m flattered. I should probably explain that my reference was regarding your title, “Dead Muse,” which was sort of how I felt about my post. I wasn’t completely happy with it and felt like you were channeling me 😉

        I like your resolution, by the way. It’s good to set realistic goals.

        Cheers, and best wishes always.

      • rougedmount says:

        lol..oh…
        it looks like we are our own worst critic. it’s hard to explain to someone the personal dissatisfaction that comes from seeing a completed piece and ‘knowing’ it is’t right. it’s like an irritant. it’s like putting on a sock with the seem facing the wrong way..no one can see it but you can feel it…it’s just not right. even if you forget about it for a while, it’s an irritation that gets worse as time progresses. it has the power to impact your mood if you let it.
        i wonder if some pieces are meant to be sub standard? if they are simply flawed in such a way as they are unable to be expressed properly by the person who generates the original idea. many times i think these articles might be better enhanced by giving them over to someone who claims them with passion and makes them live up to the potential they should have had.
        it’s giving your idea up to be adopted by someone who can nourish it better than you were able to.

      • Ned's Blog says:

        Your analogy about the seem in the sock is perfect. I can live with it but I am periodically reminded that the imperfection is there. It’s one of the hazards of being a columnist — your production time is finite, so there isn’t always the opportunity to polish things as much as you’d like. I guess that’s what anthologies are for 😉

  2. jayne says:

    I swear – your writing is gripping – poignant and gripping.

    • rougedmount says:

      its been a horrible battle.. i struggle to post anything coherent.

      • jayne says:

        it’s some kind of ironic magic than that allows you to be able to write the words that capture the “worst” parts of ourselves. I find reassurance in the fact that pain or darkness or negativity is still capable of having beauty in it’s expression. I know I sound odd but that doesn’t change the fact that it’s true. : )

      • rougedmount says:

        thank you so very much for that..you have no idea how much i appreciated it.

  3. JMC813 says:

    Oh how I wish you wouldn’t hold back so much in your writing. LOL. This is a very strong piece that overflows with anger, impatience, and the frustration of a writer. We are all our own worst critics, but come on, tell us how you really feel. Anyway, I loved this, related to it, and if you’ll excuse me I have copious amounts of mediocre phlegm to brood over myself.

    • rougedmount says:

      i have not even bothered to save anything to ‘fix’ later. my struggle and frustration is getting to me..i am still writing every day..just nothing an 11 year old, english as a second language student would consider worthy of wiping their ass with.

      • JMC813 says:

        Again so cryptic. Please tell us what you feel. LOL.
        I love how you express your frustration. I can relate, and love that you need no filter. Try this…..Try to let the words for your next piece just flow as naturally and easily as the words that describe your frustration.
        And please don’t insult my 11 year old ESL target audience. Without them I would not have anybody to read my work. LMAO Just Kidding. I hope your struggles cease and the creative floodgates open my friend

      • rougedmount says:

        the only way to get through a ‘writers block’ is to keep writing. eventually you get your inspiration back and that enables you to go back and ‘fix’ things you may have had ideas about and wrote poorly when in your ‘uninspired’ state.
        my real issue is inspiration and passion – both are missing leaving me bereft and vacant.
        thank you for the kind positivism…it made me smile…

      • JMC813 says:

        Your welcome. Anytime. We have all been there. Keep fighting through it, and I can’t wait to see the resulting masterpiece when the block comes crumbling down, and inspiration and passion again reign supreme.

      • rougedmount says:

        masterpiece is a word far too reaching but i thank you for the vote of future confidence.

      • JMC813 says:

        I’ll be the judge of that. Dig deep and the words will come. Be well my friend.

  4. Ron says:

    You are truly a gifted writer… amazing

  5. B. K. Hung says:

    Ibuprofen or paracetamols? 😉

    (Great post as always…)

  6. rougedmount says:

    we all have our own motivators for artistic inspiration and i am missing mine… senses are dulled, wit is frayed and i am unraveled and left in disarray on the cold marble of a bathroom floor, like the soiled panties of a cheap and tired whore.

  7. That was excellent, Red.

Share your thoughts...I did

