Making Time: country song

They all call you up

Making plans for the night

Going to a concert

Or down to the lake

All of your friends

Know they can count on you

For minor repairs

Or pinch hitting

At their softball game

You’re happy to go

To lend a hand

Give them your time

And advice

No one could ask

For a better friend

Or a man

But you don’t see

Every time you turn towards them

You turn your back on me

It’s another lonely week end

As I sit at home by myself

Being with you

Means being alone

And being put away onto a shelf

I’m tired of waiting

Of watching tv

And wondering why I stay

When the only time

I get to spend with you

Is when you show up

Too late

You made plans with your Dad

Picked up an odd job or two

It’s just been a crazy week

You have a ton going on

Went golfing with the boys

And dealing with things

From your Ex

The staffing meeting ran late

You’ve got to head out of town

Be back in a few days

Just didn’t have the time

To see me

No emails or calls

No coffee or texts

Day after day

It’s the same

Your life is your own

And busy as hell

And there just isn’t room for me

It’s another lonely week end

As I sit at home by myself

Being with you

Means being alone

And being put away onto a shelf

I’m tired of waiting

Of watching tv

And wondering why I stay

When the only time

I get to spend with you

Is when you show up

Too late

We should be making love

Instead of making time

Because you never have enough

You give it all away

Assuming I’ll stay

And be here

When you come home

But you’re out living

Your life

Making memories with friends

And family there by your side

At the end of the day

You’ve got nothing left for me

And then you wonder why I cry

It’s another lonely week end

As I sit at home by myself

Being with you

Means being alone

And being put away onto a shelf

I’m tired of waiting

Of watching tv

And wondering why I stay

When the only time

I get to spend with you

Is when you show up

Too late

This entry was posted in Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Making Time: country song

  1. Johnny Ojanpera says:

    Sad as country for sure.

Share your thoughts...I did

